John Abercrombie - Animato (1989)
Cover Front Album
Artist/Composer John Abercrombie
Length 44:15
Format mp3
Genre Progressive Jazz
Label ECM
Cat. Number 1411
Index 47
Track List
01 Right Now 0 07:32
02 Single Moon 0 04:20
03 Agitato 0 05:06
04 First Light 0 01:35
05 Last Light 0 04:06
06 For Hope of Hope 0 08:52
07 Bright Reign 0 05:11
08 Ollie Mention 0 07:33
Purchase Date 4/19/2003
Rating 70%
Location TRAX_209
Spars DDD
Rare No
Sound Stereo
Vince Mendoza (who wrote six of the eight pieces on this John Abercrombie CD) sets the mood of each selection on his synthesizers, either playing long tones, drones, minimalistic chordings or (in rare cases) a repetitive rhythm. Drummer Jon Christensen contributes some rhythms and percussive sounds while guitarist Abercrombie solos on top, either adding to the downbeat mood or displaying his technique. Despite the talent involved, overall the results are a bit of a bore — Scott Yanow