Sixpence None the Richer - Sixpence None the Richer (1997)
Cover Front Album
Artist/Composer Sixpence None the Richer
Length 50:45
Format mp3
Genre Adult Alternative Pop/Rock; Alternative CCM; Alternative Pop/Rock
Index 3972
Track List
01 We Have Forgotten 05:07
02 Anything 04:44
03 The Waiting Room 05:15
04 Kiss Me 03:30
05 Easy to Ignore 03:52
06 Puedo Escribir 03:45
07 I Can't Catch You 04:12
08 The Lines of My Earth 04:26
09 Sister, Mother 03:05
10 I Won't Stay Long 02:15
11 Love 03:56
12 Moving On 03:56
13 There She Goes 02:42
Purchase Date 9/9/2004
Store Soulseek
kbps VBR
Spars DDD
Rare No
Sound Stereo
After toiling in relative obscurity in the Christian pop ghetto for several years, Sixpence None the Richer suddenly exploded onto the pop charts in 1999 on the strength of "Kiss Me," an utterly irresistible slice of swoony guitar pop that, once heard, is impossible to shake loose from the brain and could well turn out to be this generation's "I Wanna Hold Your Hand." The rest of the album may not be quite as memorable, but that's not to say that "Kiss Me" is the only thing worth hearing. "Anything," with its fruity chord progression and string sweetening, is almost Beatleesque; "The Lines of My Earth" draws subtly on country influences. Then there's the Pablo Neruda setting. There are moments when the wispiness of Leigh Nash's voice isn't adequately offset by sturdier accompaniment, but overall this is a very winning album. Those who are offended by religious messages in their pop music don't need to worry — there are a few here, but they're pretty subtle. — Rick Anderson